Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Cairns High's Presentation Night recap


Christina Lee, Year 10 Dux, receiving her award from Professor Sandra Harding, Vice-Chancellor JCU and inspirational Guest Speaker on the night

The Cairns State High School Presentation Night 2014 was a fabulous night of celebration and recognition, at the Cairns Convention Centre on Thursday 6 November. Cairns State High School acknowledged the achievements of students in academic, cultural and sporting categories as well as students who have made significant contributions to improving the “quality of life” in both the school and the community.

Professor Sandra Harding, Vice-Chancellor of James Cook University and Guest Speaker for the evening, is an excellent role model for the students and we appreciated her efforts as Guest Speaker. There were spectacular performances from the award-winning Cairns State High School Orchestra, Chorale as well as exciting pieces from the Senior Centre of Excellence Dance students, Music students and the National Champion Bulldogs Cheer squad.

Cairns High has received much positive feedback about this year’s showcase event and would like to thank the school community for their support.

Please join Cairns High in showing your appreciation for our 2014-2015 Premier Partners:

  • Big Blue Self Storage Southside
  • Cairns Central Travel
  • Cairns State High School P&C Associati

A special mention and congratulations to the Special Award winners:

Indigenous Student AwardNia Seden

Meredith Louise Ward Memorial Award – Davina O’Shannessy

Japan Travel Scholarship Award – Georgia Alderton

CIS International Student Award – Kamilia Kurniati

Bond University Collegiate Leadership Scholarship – Laura Williams

Bond University Collegiate Scholarship – Sarah Tait

Vocational Student of the Year (VPG) – Loulou Burt

School Based Trainee of the Year (TAFE North) – Ruby Johns

School Based Apprentice of the Year (Skill360 Australia) – Ted Kepa

Year 10 ADF Long Tan Leadership & Teamwork Award – Christina Lee

Year 12 ADF Long Tan Leadership & Teamwork Award – Simon Johnson

Bernie MacKenzie Cultural Award – Jasmine Collier and Alec Steedman

The Crosswell Award – Eliza Kurth

Trevor Gordon All Rounder Award – Jasmine Collier and Simon Johnson

Caltex All Rounder Award – Ruby Fritz

Daniel Donaghy Memorial Scholarship – Denzel Kennedy

Pierre De Coubertin Award – Andrew Phelps

Junior Sportsperson of the Year – Leah Scroggie

Senior Sportsperson of the Year – Aron Farmer

Maths & Science Excellence Award Year 8 – Kristen Scarcella

Maths & Science Excellence Award Year 9 – Angelina Bouet

Maths & Science Excellence Award Year 10 – Riki Stauffer

Maths & Science Excellence Award Year 11 – Michi Hartnett

Maths & Science Excellence Award Year 12 – Ruby Fritz

The Ben Grossetti Memorial Award – Ruby Fritz

Year 10 Dux – Christina Lee

Year 11 Dux – Elizabeth Cullen

Year 12 Dux – Ruby Fritz